Kvinna till Kvinna's leadership

The Kvinna till Kvinna Foundation's strategic course is set by the Board. Our secretary-general, Petra Tötterman Andorff, leads the organisation’s daily operations.

Kvinna till Kvinna’s Board is elected every fourth year by WILPF Sweden (Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom) and the Swedish Peace and Arbitration Association.

The Board meets seven times a year. It is chaired by Devrim Mavi.

Kvinna till Kvinna's Board: Lisen Bergquist, Kajsa Wejryd, Maria Appelblom, Johanna Mannergren, Lars Jalmert, Tshehainesh Tekleab, Malin Almroth, Viola Furubjelke, Carina Andersson, Devrim Mavi, Lena Backhausen. Photo: Anna-Carin Hall / Kvinna till Kvinna

Devrim Mavi
Former head of the Feminist Initiative party’s registry at Stockholm City Hall.
Former editor-in-chief and journalist.
E-mail: devrim.mavi(at)gmail.com

Viola Furubjelke
Deputy chairperson
Former member of the Swedish parliament, ambassador to Syria/Lebanon, secretary-general of the Olof Palme International Center and chairperson of the Swedish UN Association.
E-mail: viola.furubjelke(at)telia.com

Kajsa Wejryd
Former head of Uppsala’s municipal upper secondary education and adult education. Former teacher and president of Women in the Church of Sweden.
E-mail: kajsa.wejryd(at)telia.com

Maria Appelblom
Board member
Superintendent at the Police. Former chief of the UN Standing Policy Capacity.
Email: maria.appelblom(at)gmail.com

Lars Jalmert
Board member
Emeritus professor of education, Stockholm University. Board member of the Fredrika Bremer Association.
E-mail: lars.jalmert(at)edu.su.se

Johanna Mannergren
Board member
Peace researcher at The Swedish Institute of International Affairs.
Former journalist.
E-mail: johanna.mannergren(at)ui.se

Malin Almroth
Board member
Co-ordinator at Victim Support Sweden in Gothenburg.
Former educator at the foundation Expo.
E-mail: malin_almroth(at)hotmail.com

Lena Backhausen
Deputy board member
Licensed psychologist.
Former HR manager and leadership and organisational consultant.
E-mail: lena.backhausen(at)comhem.se

Tsehainesh Tekleab
Deputy board member
Environmental strategist at the Swedish Public Employment Service.
Former employment officer at the Swedish Public Employment Service.
E-mail: tsehainesh.tekleab(at)gmail.com

Carina Andersson
Deputy board member
Branch head at the eastern and southern Africa unit at the Swedish Red Cross.
Experience in the field of foreign aid.

Lisen Bergquist
Deputy board member
Head of operation for World Anti-Bullying Forum at Friends. Legal expert with a focus on human rights and international law.
E-mail: lisen.bergquist(at)gmail.com

Photo: Viktor Gårdsäter

Kvinna till Kvinna's secretary-general

Petra Tötterman Andorff is Kvinna till Kvinna’s secretary-general.

She has extensive experience of working with women’s rights. Petra has been secretary-general of the Swedish branch of WILPF (Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom) and international coordinator for WILPF in New York.

Petra became deputy secretary-general of Kvinna till Kvinna in December 2014. In June 2018, she was appointed secretary-general.

Kvinna till Kvinna's Council

Besides the Board, Kvinna till Kvinna also has a Council. Council members act as goodwill ambassadors, back fundraising campaigns and raise awareness of Kvinna till Kvinna in their networks.

Current council members are Monica McWilliams and Peter Wallensten.